Page tree

Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.

So you’ve gotten complaints that data has been lost because it was saved on a deleted user’s My Drive. Google has heard the complaint all too many times and has produced an answer to the issue and it’s called Team Drive . The Team Drive is not a replacement for a user’s My Drive, but another system for group data management.

Team Drives are shared spaces where teams can store their files and guarantee that every member has the most up-to-date information, no matter the time or place. 

In short, Team Drive is a file-sharing platform centered around team objectives.  Team Drives can be shared to Groups or Users with varying levels of access to give the highest level of visibility and security to shared resources.  It alleviates the need for files to be owned by a particular user, therefore eliminating the risk of deleting user accounts and losing the data.  What this means for schools is that no longer will one person own data within drive that could possibly be wiped if the user was to ever leave. Instead, the team structure owns the data and will exist for as long as the team exists regardless of users coming and going.

...

 

My Drive vs. Team Drive

 


Team Drives

My Drive

What types of files can be added?All file types*All file types
Who owns files and folders?The OrganizationThe individual who created the file or folder
Can I move files and folders?Administrators or Team Drive Organizers can move foldersYes
Can I sync files to my computer?No. DriveFileStream will allow users to sync Team DrivesYes
SharingAll team members see the same file set.Different users might see different files in a folder, depending on their access to individual files.
How long do files I delete stay in Trash?•Each Team Drive has its own trash.
•Files and folders in the Trash are deleted forever after 30 days.
•Members can delete specific files sooner.
Files or folders in the Trash remain there until the user chooses “Delete Forever.”
Can I restore files?Yes, if you have Edit access or full access.Yes, if you are the owner.


What can you do with Team Drives?

...