Shared Drive is not a replacement for a user’s My Drive, but another system for group data management.
In short, Shared Drive is a file-sharing platform centered around Shared objectives. Shared Drives can be shared to Groups or Users with varying levels of access to give the highest level of visibility and security to shared resources. It alleviates the need for files to be owned by a particular user, therefore eliminating the risk of deleting user accounts and losing the data. What this means for schools is that no longer will one person own data within drive that could possibly be wiped if the user was to ever leave. Instead, the Shared structure owns the data and will exist for as long as the Shared exists regardless of users coming and going.
|Shared drives||My Drive|
|What types of files can you add?||All file types except files from Google Maps||All file types|
|Who owns files and folders?||Your organization||The individual who created the file or folder|
|Can I move files and folders onto a drive?|
Users can only move files.
Administrators can move files and folders. Learn more.
|Can I move files and folders within a drive?|
Yes, if you have Manager or Content Manager access.
Note: Only Managers can move files and folders between shared drives.
|Can I sync files to my computer?|
With Drive File Stream: Yes
With Backup and Sync: No
|How does sharing work?||All team members see the same file set.||Different users might see different files in a folder, depending on their access to individual files.|
|How long do deleted files stay in Trash?||After 30 days, files and folders in Trash are deleted forever.|
|Can I restore files from the trash?||Yes, if you have Manager, Content manager, or Contributor access.||Yes, if you created it.|
Google Shared Drives are shared spaces where users can easily store, search, and access their files anywhere, from any device.
Unlike files in My Drive, files in Shared Drive belong to the Shared instead of an individual. Even if members leave, the files stay exactly where they are so your Shared can continue to share information and get work done.
Please contact the Help Desk to request a Shared Drive.
To manage shared drives and their contents, users must have the appropriate access levels.
|View shared drives and files||✔||✔||✔||✔||✔|
|Comment on files in shared drives||✔||✔||✔||✔||✘|
|Make, approve, and reject edits in files||✔||✔||✔||✘||✘|
|Create and upload files and create folders in shared drives||✔||✔||✔||✘||✘|
|Add people to specific files in shared drives||✔||✔||✔||✘||✘|
|Move files and folders within a shared drive||✔||✔||✘||✘||✘|
|Move files from one shared drive to another shared drive||✔||✘||✘||✘||✘|
|Move shared drive files into the trash||✔||✔||✘||✘||✘|
|Permanently delete files in the trash||✔||✘||✘||✘||✘|
|Restore files from trash (up to 30 days)||✔||✔||✔||✘||✘|
|Add or remove people to or from shared drives||✔||✘||✘||✘||✘|
|Modify shared drive settings||✔||✘||✘||✘||✘|
|Delete a shared drive||✔||✘||✘||✘||✘|
* Default role for new members.
** Contributor access provides read-only access to files in Drive File Stream or files in the Chrome OS Files app. Assign the Content manager access level for users who need to edit files in Drive File Stream or on Chrome OS.
Requests for access to files in shared drives—Requests for access to shared drive files go only to the file creator. If the file creator is no longer a member of a shared drive, the request will be sent to the shared drive Managers.
Add members and set permissions:
To add members and set permissions, you need full access permission.
Choose an option:
To change member permissions, you need full access permission.
To remove members, you need full access permission.
Note: If you remove someone from a Shared Drive, they might still have access to files shared in other ways, such as files shared with a link to your organization, or through group sharing.
1. In the left navigation, click a Shared Drive or existing folder.
2. Click New > Folder.
3. Enter a folder name.
Note: To move folders, contact your admin.
1. In the left navigation, click a Shared Drive folder.
2. On your computer, drag an existing folder into a Shared Drive. Or, click New > Folder upload. Navigate to the folder and open it.
To add files to a Shared Drive, you need at least edit access permission. Any files you add are owned by the Shared. If you leave the Shared Drive, your files remain.
Drag an existing file to upload it from your computer. Or, click New and choose an option:
Double-click a file to open it.
After you’ve added files, you can star important files, move files, and delete files.
Flag important files or folders to find them quickly later. Just right-click a file or folder and select Add star.
To see all your starred files and folders, in the left sidebar, click Starred.
You can move any file you own into a Shared Drive, whether it’s from another Drive location, or from your computer or mobile device.
To move files between Shared Drives or from My Drive into a Shared Drive, drag the files into the destination Shared Drive folder.
Delete a file:
You must have full access permission to delete a file.
Click the file you want to delete and at the top right, click Trash delete.
This deletes the file for everyone.
If someone accidentally deletes a file, you can restore it.
Restore a file:
You must have edit access permission or higher to restore a file.
Find a file in a specific Shared Drive:
Search a folder in Shared Drives:
You can only search folders that are in My Drive or Shared Drives.
Any files you put in Shared Drives are automatically shared with members of the Shared Drive. However, you can also share Shared Drive files with people in your organization who aren’t members of the Shared Drive.
Just like in Drive, there are different ways to share files with people in your organization who aren’t in your Shared Drive. To share files, you need at least edit access to the files.
Note: Your ability to share files outside the company may be limited by your organization. Ask your admin for more information.
Share files with individuals or groups:
If you set permissions to view or comment, you can prevent people from downloading, printing, and copying shared files.
Email a link:
Share a link:
Anyone who gets the link can access the file.
Note: You might not see certain options if your admin has turned them off.
Unshare files with your organization:
Unshare files with individuals:
Note: If the file you unshared is still shared with an organization or group that includes the person, they can still access the file.